Plagued By Dumbasses

September 2, 2014

A New Phase Begins

Filed under: Parenting Points — by gresmer @ 1:56 pm

Tomorrow I will be taking Pearl to her first day of school.  I can’t believe my wee gal will be going to school already.  Is she ready?  Yes.  Am I ready?  I’m not sure.  I know that this next phase is inevitable –  I am not going to tackle home schooling so my kids will have to go school but I have mixed feelings about the whole thing.  Pearl and I have a relationship that is sometimes filled with sweet memories and sometimes filled with frustration and tears.  She is a strong willed, stubborn, intelligent, independent child and she challenges me everyday.  Sometimes I rise to the occasion – sometimes I don’t.  I think school will be good for both of us.  I also know that I will miss her terribly.

For almost 4 years, Pearl has been my side-kick.  I have been home with her since she was born.  I saw her first steps, I heard her first words.  I was there when she learned new things and saw the joy on her face as she realized what she was capable of doing.  And now someone else will get to see these things.  It makes me sad to think that she will be discovering new things and I will learn about it second hand when she gets home from school.  Intellectually I understand this is necessary for her to grow and mature, but my heart kinda hurts to think I will miss so much.

I am excited to be able to spend more quality time with Miles though as he has never experienced being an only child.  He has always had to share me and I think it will be great to focus on just the two of us for a change.  But he will miss Pearl a whole lot.  They are best buddies (even when they are driving each other crazy) and they love to be together.  I think it will be an adjustment for them both to be apart for most of the day.  Pearl is the boss though and Miles may enjoy being able to make his own rules and play his own games. 🙂

So as I prepare Pearl for her first day I am filled with mixed emotions.  I know I am not alone in this.  I know parents everywhere have the same thoughts.  But that won’t make the tears any slower tomorrow morning when I walk away from the school without my girl Pearl.  I’ll miss you Kiddo!  I can’t wait to hear all about your new adventures.

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

